- [1] The Sikkim State Legal Services Authority under the directions of Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Meenakshi Madan Rai, Acting Chief Justice, High Court of Sikkim and Executive Chairperson, Sikkim SLSA and as per the State Plan of Action organized a Debate Competition on "Whether farmers should adopt organic farming or continue with conventional methods of farming" for the students from classes VIII to XII of the Legal Literacy Clubs of the 08 Schools established in the East District on 25th August, 2018 (Saturday) at Chintan Bhawan, East Sikkim.
- [2] Legal Literacy Club function under the guidance/supervision of "Teacher-in-Charge" of the respective High School/College. There are **38** Legal Literacy Clubs in Schools, Colleges and Universities of Sikkim (**34** Schools, **02** Universities (ICFAI and Sikkim University) and **01** Law College throughout Sikkim). Legal Literacy Clubs in Law College was established in 11th June, 2012, while for the schools of East District during 2013, South during 2014, North during 2016 and West during 2013.
- [3] The programme commenced with the welcome note from Shri Suraj Chettri, Member Secretary, Sikkim SLSA, who gave a brief introduction on the topics of the debate and apprised the gathering that the debate competition is one of the many initiatives undertaken by Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Meenakshi Madan Rai, Acting Chief Justice, High Court of Sikkim and Executive Chairperson, Sikkim SLSA, to spread awareness amongst masses.
- [4] Sr. Advocates, High Court of Sikkim Shri B. Sharma and Shri A. Moulik along with two Officers from the Horticulture & Cash Crop Development Department (Dr. S. Anbalagan, IFS, Executive Director and Mr M.K. Pradhan, Additional Executive Director, Sikkim Organic Mission) participated in the said programme as Judges for the Debate Competition. Dr. S. Anbalagan, IFS, Executive Director, Sikkim Organic Mission, elucidated on the plus points of organic farming stating that organic agriculture is a unique production management system which promotes and enhances agro-ecosystem health.
- [5] 40 student members each from the Legal Literacy Clubs of the following schools attended the competition as audience:-
 - 1. Tashi Namgyal Academy,
 - 2. Tashi Namgyal Sr. Secondary School,
 - 3. Enchey Sr. Secondary School,
 - 4. Modern Sr. Secondary School,
 - 5. West Point Sr. Secondary School,
 - 6. Paljor Namgyal Girls Sr. Secondary School,
 - 7. Deorali Girls Sr. Secondary School,
 - 8. Tadong Sr. Secondary School.

[6] The students who were for the motion and against the motion were as follows:-

For the motion	Against the motion
a. Ms. Disha Bhujel (Class XI Palzor Namgyal Girls School) b. Ms. Sheetal Sharma (Class XII Deorali Girls SS School) c. Ms. Amisha Gurung (Class XI Modern SS School) d. Ms. Kunga Ongmu Bhutia (Class XII Enchey SS School) e. Ms. Nalasa Lepcha (Class X Tashi Namgyal Academy) f. Master Pushkar Sharma (Class XII Tashi Namgyal SS School) g. Ms. Sonam Ukila Bhutia (Class XII Tadong SS School) h. Ms. Karma Tenzing Bhutia (Class XII West Point SS School)	(conventional farming) a. Ms. Tshering Lhamu Bhutia (Class X Tashi Namgyal Academy) b. Master Aadarsh Rai (Class XII Tashi Namgyal SS School) c. Master Adwin Tenzing Lepcha (Class XII Tadong SS School) d. Ms. Sayantani Dey (Class XII West Point SS School) e. Ms. Prasansa Gurung (Class XI Palzor Namgyal Girls School) f. Ms. Januka Sharma (Class XII Deorali Girls SS School)
	g. Master Tenzing Sherpa (Class XI Modern SS School) h. Ms. Preeti Biswakarma (Class XII Enchey SS School)

[7] The winners of the Debate Competition were:-

Sl. No.	Position	Participant's Name	School Name	For the motion/Against the Motion
1.	1 st Position	Ms. Disha Bhujel (Class XI Commerce)'	Palzor Namgyal Girls Senior Secondary School	For the motion
2.	2 nd Position	Master Pushkar Sharma (Class XII Science)	Tashi Namgyal Senior Secondary School	For the motion
3.	3 rd Position	Ms. Preeti Biswakarma (Class XII Science)	Enchey Senior Secondary School	Against the Motion

[8] The winners of the first, second and third position received cash prize of Rs.6,000/-, Rs.4,000/- and Rs.2,000/-, respectively along with certificates while the other participants received Certificate of Participation. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr. Bikash Sharma, Deputy Secretary, Sikkim SLSA.