[1] The Sikkim State Legal Services Authority under the directions of Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Meenakshi Madan Rai, Acting Chief Justice, High Court of Sikkim and Executive Chairperson, Sikkim SLSA and as per the State Plan of Action of Sikkim SLSA and National Legal Services Authority (Legal Aid Clinics in Universities, Law Colleges and other Institutional) Scheme, 2013 organized a Debate Competition on *"Whether it is appropriate to bring back Right to Property into the Domain of Fundamental Rights under Article 19(f) or should only be recognized as a legal right as provided under Article 300 A of our Constitution"* for the students of Sikkim Government Law College, Burtuk, East Sikkim, Sikkim University, Tadong, East Sikkim and I.C.F.A.I. University, Lower Sichey, East Sikkim on **29th September**, **2018** (*Saturday*) in the *Auditorium of Hon'ble High Court of Sikkim, Gangtok.*

[2] The Judges for the said competition were Shri N. Rai, Sr. Advocate, High Court of Sikkim & Sr. Panel Advocate, Sikkim SLSA, Shri S.S. Hamal and Shri T.R. Barfungpa, Panel Advocates of Sikkim SLSA.

[3] The Welcome address was delivered by Shri Suraj Chettri, Member Secretary, Sikkim SLSA, who gave a brief introduction on the topics of the debate and apprised the gathering that the debate competition is one of the many initiatives undertaken by Hon'ble Mrs. Justice Meenakshi Madan Rai, Acting Chief Justice, High Court of Sikkim and Executive Chairperson, Sikkim SLSA, to spread awareness amongst masses.

[4] 15 students from Sikkim Government Law College, Sikkim University, and I.C.F.A.I. University participated in the said competition. The students who were for the motion and against the motion were as follows:-

	FOR THE MOTION	AGAINST THE MOTION	
1.	Mr. Pradeep Tamang (Sikkim Government Law College)	I. Mr. Anirudh Gupta (Sikkim Government Law College)	
2.	Mr. Anish Sharma (Sikkim Government Law College)	2. Ms. Anamika Gurung (Sikkim Government Law College)	
3.	Mr. Iaiiohfame C.R. Kharmujai (Sikkim University)	3. Mr. Rupesh Rizal (Sikkim Government Law College)	

	4. Mr. Mahesh Rai
4. Mr. Navnit Pradhan	(Sikkim University)
(Sikkim University)	5. Ms. Farllan D. Marak
5. Mr. Rohan Giri	(Sikkim University)
(Sikkim University)	(SIKKIII UIIVEI SILY)
(SIKKIII OIIIversity)	6. Mr. Rikchon C. Sangma
6. Ms. Ngagam Yoka	(Sikkim University)
(I.C.F.A.I. University)	7. Ms. Solanki Basu
7. Ms. Priya Lamdok	(I.C.F.A.I. University)
(I.C.F.A.I. University	8. Ms. Kinchok Choden Bhutia (I.C.F.A.I. University)

[5] The winners of the Debate Competition were:-

SI. No.	Position	Participant's Name	College/Universities Name	For the Motion/Against the Motion
1.	1 st	Ms. Anamika Gurung	Sikkim Government Law College	Against the Motion
2.	2 nd	Mr. Mahesh Rai	Sikkim University	Against the Motion
3.	3rd	Ms. Solanki Basu	I.C.F.A.I University	Against the Motion

[6] The winners of the first, second and third position received cash prize of Rs.10,000/-, Rs.8,000/- and Rs.5,000/-, respectively along with certificates while the other participants received Certificate of Participation. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr. Bikash Sharma, Deputy Secretary, Sikkim SLSA.